Dot-to-Dot

IMG_2239 (2)

Lately I’ve begun to recognise the coincidences that have been occurring in my life. There’s a pattern. Each of these coincidences has occurred in the last three years. Each has happened around twelve months apart. Each has slipped by unnoticed, until now. I’ll highlight what I mean:

  • In 2010 I visited a boxing gym near Finsbury Park with a photographer friend in order to conduct some interviews with young Olympic hopefuls. It was the first time I had been to that part of London; twelve months later, I moved to Finsbury Park after viewing several places in the north and east of London.
  • In 2011 I went to a wedding in Manchester. It was the first time I had been to the city. A year later, I was in a long distance relationship with a girl who happened to live in Manchester.
  • Last year I worked for a publishing company on a lifestyle magazine that was guest-edited by a certain celebrity chef. We spent many times at his restaurant in Marble Arch. Twelve months later, I’m in an internship on the next road up from the restaurant.
  • Until last year, I was responsible for a community website that focused on the area of Pimlico. This week, I began a new job that’s based round the corner from Pimlico Road.

Is there a link to all these coincidences? Or is that all they are – merely coincidences? Maybe I should lay down a map and connect the dots. Perhaps that way they’ll point me in the right direction. It would be nice to know where I’m going to be a year from now.

Leave a Reply

